Red Radish Curry


I have a few drafts sitting in my box for a while now. I am not sure when they will see the light of day. But I had to publish this one as soon as I could. I just had to. I am as desperate to publish it as that girl in the virgin mobile ad.
 .
Maybe, I am not that desperate. I find the ad extremely funny though.

I saw these lovely red radishes at the grocery store and they seemed to be begging me to pick them up. I got them home but did not know what to do with them. They beat the hell outta me. I could not figure out what I could cook with them. I know I could make Sambhar out of it but didn’t want to. I saw a few recipes for salads and chips using radish but no curry.  I went ahead and came up with this recipe on my own. Maybe I am becoming a chef…..not  🙂
Anyway, here’s the recipe and did I forget to mention, it came out pretty good.

Serves 4
Time: About 1/2 X 60 mins(1/2 hour) 🙂

Ingredients:
1 small onion(chopped)
1 medium tomato(chopped)
1 1/2 bunch red radish(about 2 cups when chopped)
1 long green chilli
1 tsp garlic paste
1/2 tsp nutmeg powder
1 tsp lemon pepper
1 tsp coriander powder
1 or 2 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp cumin powder(optional)
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp Ajwain/Carom seeds
salt to taste
water for boiling

Directions:
Slice the radish into thin rounds and boil them. Add some salt,sugar and some lemon pepper into the boiling water.
Now, use a pan and lightly brown the onions, cumin and Ajwain seeds in oil. Add the chopped green chilly and the garlic paste. Add tomato to it and let cook for a while. Stir in between. Add all the mentioned powders and stir it in. This base can be used for any recipe. It tasted yum. You could add other vegetables to the prepared mix.

Now add the boiled radish(with some of the stock) to this and cook for another 10 minutes.

PS: I ll post the pictures soon.

2 thoughts on “Red Radish Curry

  1. Pingback: Radish Kofta Curry « Thousand Thought Trails

  2. Hey SHil!

    Logged into your blog after quite some time and I just totally love the new look, babes! Awesome posts, awesome font and pics, and I felt like I connected with you even being so far apart! Will definitely try the recipes soon (currently mom-in-law at home so she is in charge of the kitchen ;)).

    Keep blogging! Attagirl!

    Cheers!
    Rashu

Please do leave a Reply

