Radish Kofta Curry

Radish curries seem to be the rage. It is searched on google pretty often. I think most people do not know what to do with radishes, like me. Hence,google to the rescue. This is probably the best dish that I have made with radishes so far. If you have come up with something better with radishes, leave a comment below.

I was browsing the net a while back and came across many kofta recipes. Usually koftas consist mainly of potatoes or paneer (cottage cheese) in them. I changed it up to use white radish in them. I also included them in the gravy of the dish. You could always omit radishes in the gravy.  This curry is great as a spread on bread too. I tried 🙂

Serves 4

Ingredients

For Kofta:

  • 1  long white Radish (grated long)
  • 1 small Onion
  • Gram Flour/Besan as necessary
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • Coriander leaves chopped
First squeeze out most of the water from the grated radish and mix it with all the ingredients. Add besan little by little till the mixture takes form and then make small balls/patties of the mixture. Besan/Gram flour is the binding agent here. You can use Corn flour if you do not have besan. Fry these in shallow oil(hot). You can also deep fry them. They taste better when deep-fried( obviously). I shallow fried them by making patties and waited till they were golden brown on both sides. . Set the koftas on paper towels to remove excess oil.

For Gravy

  • 2 tbsp of Oil
  • 1 medium Tomato chopped
  • 2 tsp Ginger Garlic paste
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tsp Cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 tbsp Coriander Powder
  • 1 tsp Chole/Channa Masala Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder
  • 1 tsp sugar/honey or to taste
  • Coriander Leaves for garnishing

Heat oil in a pan and once its hot, add cumin seeds. Once they sputter, add onions. Once they are light brown, add ginger garlic paste. The ginger garlic paste should emit a nice aroma after which you can add the chopped tomato. After the tomatoes cook through, I added some of the leftover radish mixture into the gravy to make it thick. For this, make sure there is no water content in radish since this could give a slight bitter taste. Saute for a while and then add all the ingredients from salt to sugar to the pan. Mix and check for taste. Add some water to make a gravy like consistency. Let it cook for 10 -15 minutes on medium low heat. Garnish with coriander leaves.

In the pic, I hadn’t sprinkled coriander leaves yet. I thought the mint leaves looked better. Chefs serve a lot of Indian curries with mint leaves but really who eats them !? or do they ?

39 thoughts on “Radish Kofta Curry

  1. Pingback: Radish Kofta Curry (via Thousand Thought Trails) « Normanomicon

  2. Pingback: Now More Than Ever: Just Write | Teksty różne kwadratowe i podłużne

  3. Koftas using radish- that sounds interesting. I generally use radish in paranthas but never tried making koftas out of them. Will give it a try sometime. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Radish Kofta Curry (via Thousand Thought Trails) « iamnotastoryteller

  5. I am definitely going to be trying this recipe. I love kofta but I don’t (usually) eat dairy so this paneer replacement looks interesting. Mmmmm….

  6. I eat Indian food everyday! And I mean it. honestly, won’t try this because I just can’t see any curry atm. But this still looks much better than some stuff I’ve seen.

  7. Finally an Indian curry on FP… That curry would go well with chapathi or any other flat bread… Even rice… Not fond of radish though… But i guess potato or paneer could be substituted for that…. Maybe something like navratna korma… But that pic looks delicious… Happy cooking!!

    • Thank you. I was bored of all the regular recipes. So, tried out something different. 🙂 You could substitute radish with a potato onion mixture, paneer, sweet potato or probably any minced meat.

    • Sure, it would work. In India too, Daikon is used, only its called Mooli. Just make sure you remove the water from the radishes to remove their slight bitterness. Thanks for stopping by.

    • My pics aren’t too good. 😦 Still trying my hands at photography. Do try and don’t forget the sugar. It gives it a nice taste. 🙂

  8. I make curries all the time, but have never put radish in it. (Like you, I never really knew what to do with a radish, except make pickles from it!). But I will definitely give this a try. I wonder if turnip can substittute for radish too? ….That’s another veggie I’m still trying to figure out! 😀

    • Turnips would probably turn out great made the same way or Turnip Sambhar is good too. Let me know how the curry turns out !!

    • It comes out great. It goes great with Indian bread(chapati, naan), rice, or with any kind of bread. Do let me know how it turns out.

Please do leave a Reply

