Tangy Mango Chutney

 Mango season is here again and I am beginning to realize how much  I took that beautiful fruit for granted back home.  Just looking at the raw mango, I was dreaming of the delish chutney I can make with it. The word chutney originated in India and can be made with just about any vegetable(including lots of greens), some fruits,lentils and a number of seeds like mustard, flax , fenugreek. In South India, chutneys usually include coconut,toasted Chana dal(huri kadla), tamarind, jaggery, asafoetida,  salt, and green chillies.

I can’t believe WordPress dictionary does not recognize jaggery and asafoetida when I typed it just now. They are supposed to be in the dictionary, right?

I glanced through a few recipes online but what I made eventually was my own. Every woman in India has her own way of making chutney including my mom. Except my mom’s recipes, I don’t tend to follow other recipes to the book. Hard for me to stick to rules, always has been 🙂 I have even changed recipes for baked goods a few times. I can hear you go “Oh my Goddd! ” . Ah well ! Here goes nothin’ . Follow this recipe or change it as you like especially the salt, jaggery and the spice level.

Ingredients:

1 large raw green mango
A handful of peanuts/groundnuts
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp toasted chana dal/huri kadle
Few pinches of asafoetida
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
2 whole dry red chilies
1 tsp chili powder(optional)
2-3 tbsp Indian jaggery grated/2 tbsp sugar
1-2 tsp salt
1 tbsp oil
a few tbsp water

Directions:

Peel and cut the mango roughly  and use a blender to mince it into a smooth paste. Toast the groundnuts in a wok/kadhai and add it to the blender and run it again. Add as little water as possible since we want to increase the shelf life of the chutney.

Now, use the same wok to heat oil. Once the oil is hot, add the tempering of mustard and cumin seeds. Cumin seeds are not typical of chutneys. You can omit it if you like. I am just a big fan of cumin seeds. I add them to just about anything. Now, add the chana dal and saute.

Break the dry red chilies and add to the kadhai. If you are feeling adventurous you can add more chilies.  Add jaggery, chilli powder, turmeric powder, asafoetida to the tempering. The sweetness  factor is also upto you.  You can add more of the jaggery or less, depending on how sweet you like it. Feel free to reduce or increase as per your preference.

Now add the mixture of mango and peanuts to the wok. Add salt and mix well. Cook for about 15 -20 minutes or until the chutney  thickens. This should keep well for at-least 2 weeks in the refrigerator. The chutney I made tasted a little on the sweeter side. The dry chillies I used were more on the less spicy side. You can always substitute the dry chillies with just chilli powder of about 2 tsps.

Mango Chutney can be eaten as a spread on breads or with dosas. I had it with Alu ke Parathe( Yum ! They were tasty !) .Kinda unconventional, I know.

4 thoughts on “Tangy Mango Chutney

  1. You seem to be experimenting with food a lot these days! 🙂 Yum, I wanna try the chutney, it looks and sounds delicious 😉 Will let you know when I do!

  2. Hi Shil,
    This looks gorgeous.. Am not fond of coconut n I am a mango person so this would be a must try for me.. It really doesn’t mention jaggery and asafoetida eh.. 🙂 I hope they update it.. Hope you are having a lovely weekend my friend…
    Sheena

    • Hey Sheena,
      Hope you are well and that the weekend was great. It was yum ! And yeah, coconut could be a damper sometimes and does not keep well for many days either.

Please do leave a Reply

